Choose your platform

PSP
PlayStation®3
PlayStation®Vita
Continue

Support: System Software Updates

PlayStation®3 System Software Version 3.15

Settings

Data transfer utility

You can now transfer (copy or move) data that is saved on one PS3™ system's hard disk to another PS3™ system's hard disk using an Ethernet cable (sold separately).

Data transfer utility
Notices
  • When you perform this operation, all data that is stored on the destination PS3™ system will be deleted.
  • Deleted data cannot be restored, so be careful not to accidentally delete important data. Data loss or corruption is the responsibility of the user.
  • Some types of data may not be transferable. Select here for details.

Preparing the systems to transfer data

Before starting the data transfer operation, you must perform the following steps.

  • Update the system software of both PS3™ systems to version 3.15.
  • Prepare the PS3™ system that will send the data (the “source system”). If multiple users exist on the source PS3™ system, you must perform the following operations for all of the users before starting the data transfer operation.
    • Create a Sony Entertainment Network account if a user does not have an account. Select PlayStation®Network (PlayStation®Network) > Sign Up for PlayStation®Network (Sign Up for PlayStation®Network), and then follow the on-screen instructions to create an account.
    • Deactivate the PS3™ system if the data to be transferred contains content that was purchased from PlayStation®Store.
      Select PlayStation®Network (PlayStation®Network) > Account Management (Account Management) > System Activation (System Activation).
    • Back up, or "sync", trophy information on the PS3™ system with the PlayStation®Network server if you want to transfer trophy information.
      Sign in to PlayStation®Network, and then select Game (Game) > Trophy Collection (Trophy Collection).
    • Sign in to PlayStation Home (PlayStation®Home) before transferring the data if you have obtained reward items for use in PlayStation®Home (PlayStation®Home) on the source system.
Notices

The following restrictions apply if you perform the data transfer operation without creating a Sony Entertainment Network account:

  • You may not be able to use the saved data on the destination PS3™ system.
  • You may no longer be able to earn trophies using the saved data that you transferred.
  • Trophy information is not transferred.

Transferring data

Turn off both PS3™ systems, and then perform the following steps.

  • Using an Ethernet cable, make a direct connection between the two PS3™ systems.
  • Connect the PS3™ systems to different video input connectors on the TV. For example, use the HDMI input connector and the video input connector on the TV.
  • Turn on the TV, and then turn on the PS3™ systems. Use the TV remote control to switch the video input to display the screen of the source PS3™ system.
  • On the source PS3™ system, select Settings (Settings) > System Settings (System Settings) > [Data Transfer Utility].
  • Select [1. Transfer data from this system to the other PS3™ system.]. If you did not complete the preparation steps described earlier, follow the on-screen instructions to complete these steps.
    Transferring data
  • When you see a message prompting you to display the destination PS3™ system's screen, use the TV remote control to switch the video input to display the screen of the destination PS3™ system.
  • On the destination PS3™ system, select Settings (Settings) > System Settings (System Settings) > [Data Transfer Utility].
  • Select [2. Transfer data from the other PS3™ system to this system.] Follow the on-screen instructions to complete the operation.
    Transferring data
Hints
  • When transferring data, do not connect the systems using a router, switcher or other network devices.
  • Data such as photos, music and videos without copyright protection will be copied from one PS3™ system's hard disk to the other PS3™ system's hard disk. If the transferred data is saved game data that is copy-prohibited or data that is copyright-protected, such as games and videos purchased from the PlayStation®Store, it will be moved to the destination PS3™ system and deleted from the source PS3™ system.
  • After the data transfer operation has been completed, you can turn off the source PS3™ system. Set the TV to display the screen of the source PS3™ system, and then select Users (Users) > Turn Off System (Turn Off System).
  • If content that was downloaded from PlayStation®Store was transferred as part of this operation, you must activate the destination PS3™ system before you can use the data. Log in to the PS3™ system as the user who owns the content, and then select PlayStation®Network (PlayStation®Network) > Account Management (Account Management) > System Activation (System Activation). to activate the system.
  • When transferring data, do not connect the systems using a router, switcher or other network devices.

Limitations of the data transfer utility (as of December 10, 2009)

Some types of data cannot be transferred using the data transfer utility, and some types of data can be transferred but not played on the destination PS3™ system. For the latest information visit the Knowledge Center for the PlayStation®3 system.

The following types of data are confirmed as not transferable:

  • Video content that has been downloaded as a rental from PlayStation®Store (file type: MNV)
  • Tracks (including "songpacks") and settings information for the SingStar® software that have been saved on the PS3™ system’s hard disk
  • Video files that are compatible with the DivX® VOD (Video On Demand) service
  • The following PlayStation®2 format software titles, if they are installed on the PS3™ system's hard disk:
    • [FINAL FANTASY XI] and [Expansion Discs]
    • [SOCOM II: U.S. NAVY SEALs] and [Related discs included with OPM* Issue 87, OPM* Issue 88, OPM* Issue 89, OPM* Issue 90]
    • SOCOM 3: U.S. NAVY SEALs
    • SOCOM: U.S. NAVY SEALs Combined Assault
    • * Official PlayStation Magazine

For the following data types, you must perform some additional steps after completing the data transfer to use the data:

  • Application data for Life with PlayStation®
    • Download and install the Life with PlayStation® application on the destination PS3™ system. You can continue to accumulate contribution points for the PlayStation®Network ranking of the Folding@home™ channel.
  • GripShift®
    • When you start the game for the first time after the data transfer operation, an error message will be displayed and you will not be able to play the game. To play the game, download and install the game again.
  • Saved data for Ghostbusters™: The Video Game
    • The saved game will not be recognized when you start the game for the first time after the data transfer operation. To use the saved data, quit the game, and then start the game again.