PlayStation®4 FAQ

 

Here are answers for some of the most common questions regarding PlayStation®4. For more in-depth details, please read PS4™: The Ultimate FAQ hosted at PlayStation.Blog.

What comes in the PS4™ box at launch

You’ll get a PS4™ system with a 500GB hard drive, a DUALSHOCK®4 wireless controller, a micro-USB cable for charging the DUALSHOCK®4 controller, a Mono-headset for voice chat, a power cable (1.5m), and an HDMI cable (2.0m).

Will I be able to watch Blu-ray and DVD movies on PS4™

Yes, you will need to download and install PS4’s day-one system software update 1.50, and then activate your Blu-ray Disc video capability with a one-time activation through the internet in order to play Blu-ray Disc films and DVD video content..

Does PS4™ offer parental control options to restrict content to younger users

Yes. The PS4™ system’s parental controls can set the control level for playing a game or application that has parental control restrictions, as well as use of the internet browser.

Also, for each sub account user, there are the controls over the ability to use chat and messaging features, the ability to post and view user-generated media, and the ability to control a monthly spending limit for PlayStation®Store purchases. Finally, sub account users cannot link their account with Social Network Services or use their real name or profile picture.

More information about PS4™ parental controls will be made available at launch

Sharing your "primary" PlayStation®4 system at home

Sharing games you purchase from PlayStation®Store
Games you download can be played by users who share your PS4™ system, such as your family and friends. You do not have to log in to the system for other users to play these games.

Sharing benefits from PlayStation®Plus
If you join PlayStation®Plus, benefits such as online multiplayer features that come with that membership can be enjoyed by users who share your PS4™ system. You do not have to log in to the system for other users to enjoy these benefits.

Sharing your PlayStation®4 system at home

Playing on other PS4™ systems when you are not at home

Playing games you purchase from PlayStation®Store
Games you purchase can be downloaded and played on any PS4™ system if you sign in to PSN℠. There is no limit on the number of systems you can use. * Only you can start games that you download.

Enjoying benefits from PlayStation®Plus
If you join PlayStation®Plus, you can sign in to PSN℠ from any PS4™ system and enjoy your membership benefits.

Playing on other PS4™ systems when you are not at home

* You can use up to 2 systems concurrently: the system activated as your "primary" PS4™ system, and one other system.

Playing games on discs

Playing games on discs

You can share disc games with your friends and play used disc games on your PS4™ system just like you can on a PlayStation®3 system. You do not have to connect to the Internet or pay any usage fees to play used games.

Why should I activate my system as my primary PS4™ system?

You can activate one PS4™ system per account as your "primary" PS4™ system. When you activate your system, the following features become available.

You can deactivate a PS4™ system only with that system. If you want to activate a different system that is not at your home as your primary PS4™ system, you must deactivate the current primary system first. Also deactivate your PS4™ system if you plan to transfer or dispose of it.

How your Friends are displayed

Coinciding with the release of the PS4™ system, you will be able to become Friends with up to 2,000 people on PSN℠. You can view your Friends on any device you have signed in to with your PSN℠ account. The number of players displayed varies for each device.

*1 For details on which 100 players are displayed, see below.

Which 100 players are displayed?

1. If you have sent or received Friend requests that haven't been approved yet, up to 10 of the most recent recipients and 10 of the most recent senders are displayed.

2. Your Friends are displayed.

  • If the sum of players from point (1) and your currently online Friends is more than 100, your currently online Friends are displayed by online ID in alphabetical order until the limit of 100 players is reached.
  • If the sum of players from point (1) and your currently online Friends is less than 100, your currently offline Friends are also displayed by online ID in alphabetical order until the limit of 100 players is reached.

3. If the sum of players from point (1) and all of your Friends from point (2) is less than 100, any remaining recipients of your Friend requests are displayed, followed by any remaining players who sent Friend requests to you, until the limit of 100 players is reached.

You must sign out of PSN℠ and then sign in again to update the players who are displayed. When doing this, also sign out of all other devices that you are signed in to PSN℠ on.

More ways to

Connect with us